Tuesday, January 20, 2015

At Home in Last Chance by Cathleen Armstrong

At Home in Last Chance: A Novel
Book Description And photo from barnesandnoble
At Home in Last Chance, book 2 in the A Place to Call Home, series by Cathleen Armstrong


Christian Contemporary Fiction

ISBN 9780800722487

Book Description: Kaitlyn Reed and Steven Braden have always had a similar philosophy of life: when the going gets tough, they get going--out of town and away from the problem. Now they are both back in Last Chance, New Mexico, and trying to start over. Kaitlyn is working to reestablish a relationship with the seven-year-old daughter she left behind six months earlier. Steven is trying to prove to his family that he is not the irresponsible charmer they have always known him to be. As Kaitlyn and Steven find themselves drawn to one another, one big question keeps getting in the way: How will they learn to trust each other when they don't even trust themselves?
With emotional depth and characters who leap off the page and into the reader's psyche, Cathleen Armstrong continues to delight her readers and win new fans. Readers will be thrilled to return once more to the small town they've grown to love.

My review: Kaitlyn Reed and Steve Braden are both the black sheep of the family. When things get tough they tend to tuck tail and run the other way. Kaitlyn is trying to make amends with her daughter she abandoned and her brother who was left with all the responsibility. She working a job she hates in order to stay close and be with her daughter. And become the mother she deserves. Steve left his brother holding the bag years ago and is still trying to make amends to his family. They have been warned by all around to stay away from each other but seem to be drawn to each other. All activity centers around family as mom and grandmother Elizabeth brings the family together. She was one of my favorite minor characters, reminding me of my own grandmother, spunky, faith filled and a true delight to all those around her.

This was the sweetest little book, reminded me of the true meaning of family. If truth be told I found it to be refreshing. The characters are well developed and realistic. In fact they remind me of the small town I live in. The author Cathleen Armstrong did an outstanding job. At Home in Last Chance is book 2 in the A Place to Call Home series. It can be read as a stand alone or as part of a series. I have not read book 1, Welcome to Last Chance, but I do plan to read it in the near future and look forward to reading book 3.

I want to give a high-five to the author and publisher for bringing compelling Christian books that are entertaining and give hope to the reader with stories of faith. I was provided with this book in exchange for my honest review and I am so grateful for author Cathleen Armstrong and publisher Revell for their generosity.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Hidden Agenda by Lisa Harris

Hidden Agenda: A Novel
Photo and Book description from barnesandnoble.com
Book Description: Michael Hunt is alive--and on the run. Presumed dead by friends and family, the undercover assignment he's been working for the past eight months has just been blown. With a hit out on his life and corruption inside the Atlanta police department, Michael finds himself hunted by both the cartel and the law. His only hope is the daughter of the man who wants him dead.
This nonstop chase from taut suspense writer Lisa Harris will leave readers breathless as they race to connect the dots before it's too late.

My Review:
Hidden Agenda, Southern Crimes Series by Lisa Harris


Christian Fiction, Suspense

ISBN: 9780800721923

Michal Hunt is working undercover. He is presumed dead by all who know him and his cover has just been blown. He may never get the chance to see his family again. Ivan Hamilton, whom is deaf stumbled upon a murder and the soon to be execution of Michael. He was able to hide and read the villains lips so he knew he did not have long to act. He convinces his sister Olivia, that they must help save Michael. They will have to give up everything and betray their father to rescue him. In the mist of all the drama Olivia and Ivan discover they have lived a lie all their lives.

The author Liz Harris did an outstanding job with this novel. The characters are realistic, faith filled and have strong morals. I found the story line to be intense with action around every corner. Be prepared to hold on and be kept at the edge of your seat. I highly recommend this 5 star book. If I had to take anything away from this novel it would be not everyone is given a second chance, so when you receive one make the most out of it. Hidden Agenda is book 3in the Southern Crimes Series. I have read book 2 Fatal Exchange and found it to be just as intense and enjoyable. They can read as a stand along or together as the series. I have not had the chance to read the first book Dangerous Passage but look forward to reading it.

High-five to the author Liz Harris and publisher Revell for bringing compelling Christian books that are entertaining and give hope to the reader with stories of faith. I was provided with this book in exchange for my honest review and I am so grateful for the authors and publishers generosity.

Another Great Book by Lisa Harris Fatal Exchange: A Novel

Monday, January 5, 2015

Buried by Elizabeth Goddard

Buried (Love Inspired Suspense Series)
Photo and About book from barnesandnoble.com

About the book: NOWHERE TO HIDE
Fleeing to Alaska is the only option for Leah Marks after witnessing a murder. Afraid for her life, the legal investigator hopes a remote cabin will be a safe shelter. But the killer has tracked her to Mountain Cove. As he chases her into snow-packed Dead Falls Canyon, an avalanche buries them both. Saved by daring search and rescue specialist Cade Warren, Leah longs to tell him the truth. But how can she, without bringing even more danger into Cade's life? Especially when they discover the killer is very much alive and waiting to take them both down.
Mountain Cove: In the Alaskan wilderness, love and danger collide

My Review: Buried book 1 in the Mountain Cove Series by Elizabeth Goddard

Love Inspired Suspense

ISBN: 9780373446452

   Author Elizabeth Goddard has written another five star novel. She has entwined romance with lots of action and suspense. Be prepared to be kept at the edge of your seat with this book. I had a hard time putting it down. Leah Marks has fled to Mountain Cove, Alaska after witnessing her bosses murder by a respected detective form the local police department. Cade Warren rescues Leah after detective Snyder tries to kill her. Sparks fly but Leah has a hard time trusting anyone. Cade can tell she has a secret and is determined to help. After a while Cade gets under her skin and she soon realizes she has strong feeling for the search and rescue hero. She and Cade use her legal investigation skills to help her prove the murdering detective guilty. With both having been hurt before trust is a big issue. Read this great story to find out if they are finally able to trust and bring Detective Snyder to justice. I can not want to read more in the Mountain Cove series, I hope I don’t have to wait long. If you enjoy Christian fiction and suspense this is the book for you. I highly recommend Buried and any of Elizabeth Goddard books, I have fallen in love with her fast paced stories and faith filled style of writing.

I want to give a high-five to the author Elizabeth Goddard and publisher Love Inspired Suspense for bringing compelling Christian books that are entertaining and give hope to the reader with stories of faith. The author provided me with this book in exchange for my honest review and I am so grateful for the authors and publishers generosity.