Friday, May 16, 2014

A Season of Change

Book One in of Seasons in Pinecraft Series

By Lynette Sowell

Abingdon Press Fiction

Book Description: An Amish widower finds love in unexpected places
Amish widower Jacob Miller believes it was a mistake to visit the Amish village of Pinecraft for winter vacation, especially after his daughter is struck by a car. Stranded in Sarasota until his daughter recovers, Jacob grows increasingly wary of events that unfold in his unfamiliar surroundings—including the strange curiosity of Englischer Natalie Bennett.

Natalie never thought her circus career as an aerial silks artist would end with a blown-out knee at the age of 25. She also never knew her late mother had a secret—that she was once Amish.

When Natalie meets the Millers at the Sarasota hospital, she is attracted to their warm hospitality and simple ways—and soon wonders if they can help her find her mother’s family. As Jacob and Natalie fall in love, their worlds collide. Will their differences tear them apart? Or will their love be strong enough to blend their clashing cultures?

My Review: A Season of Change by Lynette Sowell A Season of Change can only be described as a breath of fresh air. Amish widower Jacob Miller’s daughter is injured and hospitalized while on vacation in Pinecraft, Florida. Because of her injures he will be there for an extended period of time. Bubbles the clown AKA Natalie Bennett befriends the Miller children and family. As Jacob and Natalie develop feeling for one another they think there is no hope for a relationship between an Christian Englisher and an Amish.

The author Lynette Sowell did a great job with the contrast between the life of the Amish, the plain people and the life of a Christian. I really enjoyed reading about the similar and differences in their beliefs. I found answers to question I had in the back of my mind about their beliefs. A Season of Change is deserving of 5 stars. I highly recommend this book to all who enjoy Amish fiction, Christian fiction and clean romances. It is a super book. A Season of Change is book one in the Seasons in Pinecraft Series. I look forward to the next book. This is the first book I have read by author Lynette Sowell, I loved her writing style and look forward to read more book by her.

I want to give a high-five to the author Lynette Sowell and publisher Abingdon for bringing compelling Christian books that are entertaining and give hope to the reader with stories of faith. I was provided with this book in exchange for my honest review and I am so grateful for the authors and publishers generosity.

About the Author: Lynette Sowell writes fiction for the inspirational market--sweet, quirky, occasionally deadly--from romance to mystery. She is an award-winning author of over 15 titles for Barbour Publishing, Harlequin, and Abingdon Press. Lynette was born in Western Massachusetts in the shadow of the Berkshire Mountains, raised on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, but makes her home on the doorstep of the Texas hill country. She loves reading, cooking (especially trying new recipes), watching movies, and is always up for a Texas road trip. When she's not writing fiction, she works as a reporter for her city newspaper and has a weekly column called My Front Porch. She has four cats and a Texas heeler named Mocha who keeps them in line.

She won the 2010 Carol Awards Finalist -- All That Glitters (Short Historical)
2007 ACFW Book of The Year Winner -- Joie de Vivre (Historical Novella)
2007 ACFW Book of The Year Finalist -- Reuben's Atonement (Historical Novella)
2005 Genesis Winner -- Star's Daughter (Sci-Fi Fantasy)

Lynette's favotiate scripture is Isaiah 40:28-31
New International Version (NIV)
28 Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.
29 He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.
30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
31 but those who hope in the Lord
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

You might also enjoy

Coming Soon Book 2: A Path Made Plain
November 2014, Abingdon Press

Betsy Yoder lives with her great aunt in Sarasota’s Pinecraft neighborhood, far from her family in Ohio. Heartbroken by a man who left her—and the Order—to marry someone else, Betsy instead pours her time and energy into her bakery, offering the village of Pinecraft delicious desserts from her Amish heritage, and is content in her hard-working yet peaceful life.

Enter the formerly Amish Thaddeus Zook, a pastry chef who has moved to Pinecraft after working in restaurants among the English. While Betsy nurses a hesitant heart, Thaddeus shows a similar hesitancy about rejoining an Amish community. Though neither can deny the attraction between them, Thaddeus is hiding a past that could threaten their future together. Betsy has lost one love already; dare she risk loving another who has adopt English ways? Or will Thad listen to the call of the open road and move on again . . . without the love of his life?

No comments:

Post a Comment